If you loved Normal People, check out these books

19 Jun 2020 United Kingdom

normal people sally rooney flatlay
*This post contains affiliate links*
If you loved Sally Rooney's Normal People - you've devoured the book and adored the BBC TV adaptation - here are some similar books like Normal People, in one way or another, that are worth adding to your TBR. 

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

Like Normal People, An American Marriage is the story of relationships over time. Celeste and Roy are newly-weds and excited to experience the future together. When Roy is arrested and sentenced for a crime he didn't commit, their marriage takes a turn as they both separately try to navigate through life while Roy is in prison. You get a real, intimate look into a relationship with complications, pain and love. 

Little Fires Everywhere by Celeste Ng

If you're a fan of adaptations, Little Fires Everywhere has recently made its way to our screens as a TV series. Why not read the book and follow-up with the show? Elena Richardson, the mother of 4 and Lawyer's wife, lives in Shaker Heights, Cleveland where everyone follows the rules. When Mia Warren moves to Shaker Heights - mysterious artist and single mother- Elena grows curious of Mia's past. This book explores motherhood as well as relationships and social change. 

My Salary by Sally Rooney

Of course, if you love a book, read everything that author has written! Mr Salary is a short story written by Rooney. A 33-page story that managed to build some serious sexual tension between Sukie and Nathan who Sukie moves in with after her mother's death and her dad became difficult. If you're missing Sally Rooney in your life, be sure to pick this one up while we pray of the news of a new release soon. 

My Dark Vanessa by Kate Elizabeth Russell

I highly recommend this new release for fans of Normal People because we see the protagonist Vanessa at different points in her life - moments poignant to the story - just as we see Connell and Marianne at important moments of their story together and apart. 

In 2000, 15-year-old Vanessa has sex with her 42-year-old English teacher, Jacob Strane. 

2017 - with the rising number of sexual-abuse allegations against powerful men, a former student of Strane accuses him of sexual assault. Now, Vanessa has to face choices she didn't think she would ever have to make. How does she tell her story when she still feels love toward Strane? 

This is a difficult, yet necessary read that delves deep into Vanessa's thoughts as a bright, na├»ve teen to an adult. Covering issues of consent, victimhood, childhood trauma and more, this is such a well-written story that covers extremely important topics. 

Everything I know about love by Dolly Alderton

If you loved Normal People but now in the mood for some non-fiction. A funny yet heart-breaking book about love through life. This memoir from Dolly Alderton relives the moments of awful house parties, getting drunk, getting dumped. Bad dates and good friends. An honest, humorous look at love. 

My Fat, Mad Teen Diary by Rae Earl

Another book to TV adaptation but focussing more on the life of teens in the North of England. Set in 1989, Rae is 17 years old and from her diary, we live through the life of a teen - from bullying to crushes. While the tone is completely different from Normal People, it covers ideas universal to teens and is sure to be relatable for many. 

Have you read any of these? What did you think? 
Hope you're doing great, 
Sarah x 


Post a comment